2011 - 2016 Copyright © North Fort Worth LTC. All Rights Reserved.
11th - Thursday
13th - Saturday
20th - Saturday
21st - Sunday
24th - Wednesday
28th - Sunday
March 6, 8, 12, 14, 19, 20, 24, 26
Classes At Cabelas Fort Worth
$75 per student!
Class Fee Paid at Class Time
By Cash or Check
LTC Class $75
On January 1, 2016, Texas began allowing the lawful open carry of handguns by ordinary citizens for the first time in over 140 years. A simple change in Texas gun law will allow a person with a handgun license issued or recognized by the State of Texas to lawfully carry a handgun of their choosing in plain view, if it is carried in a belt or shoulder holster.
The new law changes the name of our Texas Concealed Handgun License to a Texas “License To Carry,” or LTC. The great news for current license holders is that there are no other changes to a license holder’s currently-held handgun license or their ability to carry a concealed handgun. There are no new requirements that a current license holder receive any additional training, obtain a new license, or carry a concealed handgun in a holster (though new applicants will be required to undergo training on the use of holsters as part of their initial license training).
A license holder is able to lawfully carry a visible handgun in a belt or shoulder holster anywhere the license holder can currently carry a concealed handgun, with one significant exception. Campuses of public or private institutions of higher learning (i.e. colleges, universities, and technical institutes) are “no open carry” zones. In a compromise made to ensure the passage of separate “campus carry” legislation, the Texas Legislature has decided that a license holder can only carry concealed handguns while on college or university sidewalks, walkways, streets, parking lots, parking garages, and buildings (as of August 1, 2016 for colleges, universities, and technical institutes, or August 1, 2017 for public junior colleges).
The unlicensed open carry of a handgun in places other than one’s premises, vehicle/watercraft, or premises under one’s control will continue to be considered “unlawful carrying of a weapon,” a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a $4,000 fine and/or up to a year in county jail.1
The New “30.07” sign
The Texas Legislature also enacted a new law that acts as an open-carry duplicate to Texas Penal Code 30.06 (criminal trespass by a license holder carrying a concealed handgun). The new Texas Penal Code Sec. 30.07 allows private property owners to restrict the open carry of handguns by license holders on their property by posting a new “30.07” sign or giving written or verbal “30.07” trespassing notice. If a property owner wishes to prevent license holders from carrying either concealed or open handguns on their property, they must post both a “30.06” sign and a “30.07” sign.
An unexpected benefit of the debate over the “open carry” bill is that it resulted in lowering the potential penalty for anyone accused of violating a “30.06” sign from a Class A misdemeanor (punishable by up to a year in county jail and/or a $4,000 fine) to a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum fine of $200 only. This is the penalty for the new 30.07 law as well. This means that even if a license holder is convicted of trespassing in violation of a property owner’s “30.06” or “30.07” sign, there is no possibility of jail time and no potential for revocation of their handgun license. However, if a license holder is given a personal, verbal “30.06” or “30.07” warning such as “we don’t allow guns in here” or “you are not allowed to open carry in here,” and the license holder refuses to leave or conceal their handgun, the potential penalty remains a Class A misdemeanor.
As might be imagined, the open carry bill did not get through the Texas Legislature without some controversy. An amendment to restrict a police officer’s ability to stop and verify that a person who is carrying a handgun is licensed to do so (or falls under some other exception) was initially put into the bill to prevent possible police abuses of open carriers, but was later removed by the Legislature’s conference committee to ensure that the bill would pass. This means that a police officer who sees a person in a public place with a handgun may detain them to determine if they are exempted from the general prohibition against carrying a handgun without a license. If a person is stopped by a police officer, and the officer asks to see ID, the LTC holder is obliged to show the officer both their ID and LTC. Once the person is verified to be in possession of a valid LTC, the police encounter should end.
Weekend and Weekday Classes Are Available
North Fort Worth LTC Classes
License to Carry (formerly CHL) at Cabelas Fort Worth
Classes at Cabelas are located in the meeting room upstairs to the left of the restaurant.
The following link will take you to a registration page.
If you find a lower priced LTC Class, make sure that their price includes your range fees. All North Fort Worth CHL prices include the range fees. If you need to borrow a handgun, loaners are available at no charge. Other instructors charge extra.
A Texas Certified Handgun Instructor presents a Power Point Presentation that will keep your interest. Presentation is highlighted with videos that include current and relevant information. You will gain the knowledge necessary to successfully complete the Texas Concealed Handgun License process.
Even if you do not carry a handgun on a regular basis, the knowledge you gain from the class is very important for anyone that owns a gun. If you plan to keep a handgun in your home, vehicle, or RV, you need to know and understand the law.
We will cover the four basic required Texas LTC topics: Legal Aspects of handgun Carry, Use of Force and Deadly Force, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, and Safe Handling and Storage of Firearms. Additional topics include Basic Handgun Marksmanship, Mental Awareness, Range Safety, and Reading the Target.